Doors Open Cornwall SDG Counties

Aug 17, 2024

Saturday, August 17 & Sunday, August 18
Various sites in Cornwall and SDG Counties

Historic SDG Jail

Get a behind-the-scenes look at some of the most unique and historic buildings and places in Cornwall and SDG Counties during Doors Open! During the weekend of August 17th and 18th, participating locations will be opening their doors free of charge for residents and visitors to explore and discover the stories inside. Satisfy your curiosity and get behind normally closed doors to experience intriguing interiors, where you will be inspired by rare and exceptional materials, craftsmanship and design. From historical houses to modern marvels of construction, Doors Open has something for everyone! Stay tuned for details on participating sites and hours of admission.

About Doors Open

Doors Open is a provincial initiative spearheaded by the Ontario Heritage Trust. For additional information, please click here.

Sites

Aultsville Theatre

2 St. Lawrence Drive, Cornwall
Built in 1976, the Aultsville Theatre is a 680-seat non-profit professional theatre that hosts a variety of events annually. Come and experience theatre life on the other side of the curtain. Take a backstage tour and see where the performers prepare themselves. Get a behind-the-scenes look at the theatrical lighting, rigging and operations that bring productions and performances to life. Hours of operation: Saturday, Aug 17, 10:00 a.m. -3:00 p.m. 

The Bishop’s House of Glengarry

20019 County Road 18, St. Raphael’s
This stone landmark across from the St. Raphael’s Ruins was initially a presbytery for Father Alexander Macdonell, chaplain of the Glengarry Fencibles Light Infantry during the War of 1812, and later the first Bishop of Upper Canada. In 1924, symmetrical wings were added to each side of the presbytery in its transition to the renowned girls’ boarding school, Iona Academy. Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Christ Chruch Seaway

2 Bethune Avenue, Long Sault
This church was built in 1959 after the St. Lawrence Seaway Project, which displaced the residents of what are now known as the Lost Villages, a group of communities located on the banks of the river. In the process, 17 churches were moved or destroyed. It is one of three Anglican churches comprising the “Area Parish of the Saint Lawrence.” Hours of operation: Saturday Aug 17, 10:00 a.m. -3:00 p.m. 

Cornwall Armouries

505 Fourth Street East, Cornwall
This is a recognized federal heritage building, associated with the expansion of Canada’s militia between the First and Second World Wars. People choose to become a reserve soldier to learn new skills, gain valuable experience, meet new people and serve their country. The site still houses the Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders Militia, as well as the Cadet Corps. Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Cornwall Historical Walking Tour

100 Water Street East
This 6-kilometre (3.7-mile) self-guided walking tour is a voyage into Cornwall’s heritage, depicting events and points of interest from the city’s past. The tour follows nearly 30 plaques that have been erected along Cornwall’s waterfront, downtown and in parts of Le Village in the city’s east end — representing industrial links, the former Cornwall Canal and the founding of New Johnstown.
Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Glengarry County Archives

28 Kenyon St E Alexandria
The Glengarry County Archives, housed in this 1822 building, is the largest repository of historical records in Eastern Ontario. It contains the foremost collection of history about Glengarry County found anywhere.
Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18: 12 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Glengarry Pioneer Museum

1645 County Road 30, Dunvegan
Opened in 1962, the Glengarry Pioneer Museum has grown to include eight heritage buildings, including the Star Inn, a stagecoach stop in the 1860s. Its barroom is thought to be one of the oldest in Eastern Ontario. Other pioneer buildings on this site are the blacksmith shop, town hall, Orange Lodge, log barns, drive shed and cheese factory.
Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Heritage Museum

14 Victoria Street, Chesterville
The Heritage Centre, originally the Winchester Township Town Hall, served as a courthouse, drill hall, movie theatre, firehall and many other things. The Chesterville and District Historical Society took over the building in 1984 and has been collecting artifacts and researching local history since. The building is now maintained by the Township of North Dundas. Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Historic SDG Jail

11 Water St W Cornwall
This jail has a rich history. It served as a maximum-security facility for nearly a century, housing some notorious criminals. It was notorious for its harsh conditions and alleged human rights violations. Today, the jail stands as a museum and popular tourist attraction, offering visitors a glimpse into the prison’s past and the harsh realities of life behind bars.
Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17 and Sunday August 18: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Sir John Johnson Manor House

19692 William St Williamstown
Along the Raisin River lies one of the oldest homes in Ontario. This Georgian-style house was built for Sir John Johnson (a soldier, Loyalist and public servant) between 1784-92. This site was chosen because it is a natural location for water-powered mills. The house is now a National Historic Site, dedicated to preserving local history through archives and tours.
Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18: 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Trinity Church

105 Second Street West, Cornwall
A church has been on this site since 1784, when Loyalists first settled here. The current church dates to 1876, dedicated to Bishop John Strachan. Built in the Gothic style, the building features marble floors, stained-glass windows, a Casavant organ, and plaques and memorials to early Cornwall citizens. Outside, the churchyard features graves dating back to the late 1700s. Hours of operation: Saturday, August 17: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

 

We’re here to help!

Got questions? Looking for recommendations? Cornwall Tourism is here to help! Text us anytime at 613-938-4748 and we will be happy to assist with any questions you might have.

#ExploreCornwallON

Looking for other fun things to do in Cornwall? Check out the Explore section of our website for other fun-filled activities to keep you busy. Better yet, consider extending your stay with a night at one of our great accommodations!